Pourquoi le Burundi

International Relations

Burundi is member of several regional and international organizations in particular:

· East-African Community

· African Development Bank

· Central African States Economic Community

· Great Lakes Countries Economic Community

· Common Market for the East and Southern Africa

· African Union

· United Nations

· World Trade Organization

· World Health Organization

· World Intellectual Property Organization

· International French Speaking Country Organization

· International Labour Organization

· United Nations for Industrial Development Organization

· United Nations Development Programme

· World Food Program

· United Nations Conference on Trade and Development


Burundi is also enjoying facilitation from good cooperation with institutions such as World Bank, International Monetary Fund, International Finance Corporation, European Union, etc.

For the investors, it is important to underline that Burundi is a member of the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA). Burundi has also ratified on May 9th 2014 the Convention of New York on the Recognition and the Execution of the Foreign Arbitration Judgments and to the Apostille Convention on April 9th 2014, concerning the international judicial and administrative mutual aid to simplify the authentication of documents used abroad to facilitate the free movement of people, goods and services. Burundi also enjoys the agreement on free trade between the United States and the African Continent as well as the agreement between the European Union and the group of the States of Africa, Caribbean and the Pacific.

Regional Integration

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organization made up of the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, the United Republic of Tanzania and Uganda. The EAC headquarters is located at Arusha, in Tanzania. The EAC counts for a population of 143.5 million inhabitants.

The Treaty establishing the East African Community was signed on November 30th, 1999 and came into effect on July 7th 2000, following its ratification by three original partner States: Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda.

The Republic of Burundi acceded to the Treaty of the EAC on June 18th 2007 and became full member on July 1st of 2007. Since then, Burundi has been participating in the activities of the Community: summits of the Heads of state, the Councils of Ministers, the Sectorial Councils, the Technical meetings of negotiations, etc.

Decisions and Directives were taken, the Protocols were negotiated and all these have established the new commitments of Burundi with regard to the East African Community.

Since its integration to the East African Community, Burundi has joined other partner states to make sure it is contributing to the success of the Community agenda, through the four pillars of integration, namely: The Customs Union, the Common Market, the Monetary Union and the Political Federation as the ultimate objective of the Community. As regards to free movement of people, the Partner States of the East African Community ensure free movement of the citizens of the other Partner Countries of the East African Community.

The single tourist visa is effective since 2014.

Photo East Africa Community



-Rainfall: 8 to 9 months per year

-Temperature: 21o C average

-Altitude: Lowest 772 m, Highest 2670 m

The Republic of Burundi is part of the Great Lakes Region in East Africa with 27 834 sq km and 10.16 million inhabitants (WB 2013). The bordering countries are Rwanda in the North, Tanzania in the East and in the South, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) on the West. The common border with the RDC is made of the Lake Tanganyika, the 2nd deepest lake in the world, 677 km long, with 32 000 sq. km.  It covers the south-western coast of Burundi.

Lake Tanganyika, has a wide variety of fish estimated at 250 species, including cichlids and non-cichlids fish. 

From the boarders of Lake Tanganyika, the earth rises abruptly to create spectacular rocky mountains, gorges with waterfalls and hot springs. The rainforest in the North-West full of primate animals is an attractive paradise for tourists, whereas the Rusizi delta is an oasis of tranquillity and a paradise for the ornithologists.

The landscapes of a unique beauty include the Lake Tanganyika, the Karera water falls, the Germany faults of Nyakazu, the unexplored cave of Kayove, thermal waters of Muhweza, the tea plantations of Teza, the National park of Kibira, the National park of Ruvubu, etc.

We also find the Natural reserves of Rusizi in Bujumbura, Kigwena in the province of Rumonge as well as that of the lake Rwihinda in the North.

Bujumbura, Burundi's capital has an International Airport located at 10 kilometers from the city and is positioned as an ideal trading hub. It is located at a 25 minute flight from Kigali (Rwanda), a 1h 10 minuteflight from Nairobi (Kenya) and Entebbe (Uganda),2hour flight from Serengeti National Park and Zanzibar (Tanzania).

Scheduled flights of major airlines such as: Kenya Airways, Ethiopian Airlines, Brussels Airlines, Air Uganda, Rwanda Air and FlyDubai are available.


Brief news about Burundi




Geographical data

3° 22′ 32″ South 29° 21′ 33″ East

Population in capital city

658 859 inhab. (2014)

Official Languages

Kirundi, French

Other languages

English, Swahili







First Vice-President


Second Vice-President

Dr. Joseph BUTORE


 July 1962 (from the Kingdom of Belgium)

Total area

27 834 sq km



Population                                                                                      10.16 million


365 inhab./sq. km

GDP (2013)

$ 2.715 Billion

GDP per capita (2013)

$ 320


Burundian francs (BIF)

Exchange rate

1 USD = 1 559.99 BIF

Time zone



0.389          180th over 187 (UNDP 2014)


Right-hand drive

ISO Code 3166-1




Telephone code