Regional Integration

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organization made up of the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, the United Republic of Tanzania and Uganda. The EAC headquarters is located at Arusha, in Tanzania. The EAC counts for a population of 143.5 million inhabitants.

The Treaty establishing the East African Community was signed on November 30th, 1999 and came into effect on July 7th 2000, following its ratification by three original partner States: Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda.

The Republic of Burundi acceded to the Treaty of the EAC on June 18th 2007 and became full member on July 1st of 2007. Since then, Burundi has been participating in the activities of the Community: summits of the Heads of state, the Councils of Ministers, the Sectorial Councils, the Technical meetings of negotiations, etc.

Decisions and Directives were taken, the Protocols were negotiated and all these have established the new commitments of Burundi with regard to the East African Community.

Since its integration to the East African Community, Burundi has joined other partner states to make sure it is contributing to the success of the Community agenda, through the four pillars of integration, namely: The Customs Union, the Common Market, the Monetary Union and the Political Federation as the ultimate objective of the Community. As regards to free movement of people, the Partner States of the East African Community ensure free movement of the citizens of the other Partner Countries of the East African Community.

The single tourist visa is effective since 2014.